Curling has been a longstanding winter pastime in our beloved City. The Woodstock Curling and Skating Club, operating out of the Canterbury Street rink, was established in 1867. In February of 1905, the Club opened a new facility and re-branded itself as the Woodstock Curling Club; the facility was located behind present day Central Public School. In 1923, the facility was sold to the Board of Education for expansion of the school and the Club closed its doors. Both of the curling facilities relied on cold weather for the making and maintenance of ice.
The Club reorganized in 1948 and a new four sheet artificial ice facility, spearheaded by Alan Bain Lawrason, was erected on the site of the present day lot. Throughout the years, this vibrant not-for-profit organization has played host to many social gatherings, bonspiels and great curling events including several Provincial Championships. In 2017 the Club re-branded as the Woodstock Curling Centre with the vision of providing a hub for recreational curling and non-curling social activities for all ages.